Muslim leaders appeal for peace ahead of Eid festival

May 1, 2022

New Delhi, 28 April 2022: Muslim leaders have asked the local community members to hold meetings with ‘aman’ (peace) committees as well as members of the majority community in their areas to foil the attempt of miscreants to create any mischief on the occasion of Eid-ul-Fitr festival.

The leaders advised the community members to lodge complaints with the local police and administrative authorities in case they come to know about any miscreant masking a bid to disrupt peace in their respective areas.

They asked the local community leaders to hold meetings with their local administration and police department and ensure that law and order situations were not disturbed under any circumstances.

The leaders asked the Muslims to contact the representatives of other religious groups and get an appeal issued from them to ensure that no one indulged in any activity that disturbed the peaceful atmosphere under pressure from any political outfit or a criminal group.

The Muslim leaders advised the local community representatives to have the presence of prominent personalities from other religious groups and independent journalists and human rights activists outside the Eidgah or the places where Eid prayer is held. Wherever possible, CCTV cameras also be installed at suitable locations near Eidgahs.

They instructed Muslims to remain extremely peaceful while going to and returning from Eidgah and avoid falling into the trap of provocations of mischief-mongers.

The leaders also asked the Imams and clergy members to be very cautious about using words in their ‘khutba’ (sermons) so that their speeches are not distorted.

The signatories to the appeal are All India Muslim Personal Law Board (AIMPLB) president Maulana Mohammad Rabey Hasani Nadvi, Jamiatul Ulama-e-Hind president Maulana Arshad Madani, Jamaat-e-Islami Hind President Syed Sadatullah Husaini, Jamiatul Ulama-e-Hind President (Mahmood group) Syed Mahmood Asad Madani, Sharia Council president Maulana Syed Jalaluddin Umri, AIMPLB general secretary Maulana Khalid Saifullah Rahmani, Markazi Jamiat Ahl-e-Hadith Hind president Maulana Asghar Imam Mehdi Salafi, All India Muslim Majlis Mushawarat (AIMMM) president Navaid Hamid, AIMPLB vice-president Dr. Syed Ali Mohammad Naqvi, former AIMMM president Dr. Zafarul Islam Khan, Darul Uloom Deoband Rector Maulana Mohammad Sufiyan Qasmi, Raza Academy representative Maulana Yasin Akhtar Misbahi, Shia Jama Masjid (Kashmiri Gate) Imam Maulana Mohsin Taqvi, All India Shia Council spokesperson and convener Maulana Jalal Haider Naqvi, All India Milli Council general secretary Dr. Manzoor Alam, and AIMPLB member Dr. Syed Qasim Rasool Ilyas.

Spread the love

You May Also Like…