JIH organizational elections: 15 members elected to Council of Representatives in non-regional section

New Delhi: The process to elect the President of Jamaat-e-Islami Hind (JIH) has begun with the election of 15 members of the Council of Representatives (Majlis e Numaindgaan) in the non-regional section.


In a statement, JIH Media Secretary, Syed Tanveer Ahmed has informed that the JIH President has a four-year term, who is elected democratically through an open and transparent process. He said, “accordingly, the term of the current President, Syed Sadatullah Husaini along with his team of office bearers comes to an end on 31 March 2023 and the next term shall be from April 2023 until March 2027. The JIH President is elected by an electoral college, called the Council of Representatives, which is the topmost body and the JIH members elect this body from among themselves through direct voting.”


Talking about the election process, the JIH Media Secretary said that a total 162-member of the Council of Representatives would be elected for the new term. However, he added that elections are conducted in two phases. In the first phase, voting is held to choose 15 members from across the country in the non-regional category while in the second phase, other 147 members will be elected from states/zones which is called regional section.


Mr. Tanveer announced that all the members of JIH elected 15 members belonging to the non-regional section of the council, for which the election was conducted between 4th and 5th March 2023, while 88% of JIH members voted online and the result was declared within 30 minutes.  Online elections for the regional section of the council shall be held on 11th and 12th March 2023.  The 15 newly elected members of the Council of Representatives are:


  1. Mr. Syed Sadatullah Husaini
  2. Prof. Mohammed Saleem Engineer
  3. Mr. T. Arif Ali
  4. Mr. S. Ameenul Hasan
  5. Maulana Waliullah Sayeedi Falahi
  6. Maulana Muhammad Jafar
  7. Maulana Muhammad Iqbal Mulla
  8. Dr. Syed Qasim Rasool Ilyas
  9. Mrs. Atia Siddiqua
  10. Dr. Mohammad Raziul Islam Nadvi
  11. Mr. Malik Motashim Khan
  12. Maulana Ejaz Ahmad Aslam
  13. Dr. Muhiuddin Ghazi
  14. Dr. Hasan Raza
  15. Mr. Mujtaba Farooq
Spread the love

You May Also Like…